Faculty News

Johnson’s Dean to Receive 8th Annual Distinguished Global Thinker Award from IILM Institute for Higher Education


Soumitra Dutta will be honored on March 31 in New Delhi, and deliver lecture on innovation

Soumitra Dutta, the Anne and Elmer Lindseth Dean of the Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management at Cornell University, will receive the 8th IILM Distinguished Global Thinker Award from IILM Institute for Higher Education in New Delhi, India.

The award will be conferred on March 31, 2014, in a ceremony at IILM in New Delhi. Prospective MBA students, Cornell graduates, and friends are invited to attend the ceremony, which will a special lecture by Dutta, titled “Innovation at the speed of life: India in a flat world.” The ceremony and lecture begin at 4 p.m.

The Global Thinker Award is presented each year to a distinguished thought leader, and honors outstanding personalities, who have made a crucial difference to issues of relevance to the national and global economy. Dutta is being recognized for his lasting contribution in the areas of technology, innovation, and strategy, said Sapna Popli, director and executive dean of IILM.

“I am deeply honored to be chosen for this award, and in doing so, join the company of a remarkable group of thought leaders,” Dutta said. “I look forward to sharing my work in this unique forum of engaged academic and industry leaders.”

In his special lecture, Dutta will focus on how India has embraced innovation as a nation, and what it must do to move continue innovating as a key to economic and social advancement. India is one of a group of dynamic middle- and low-income countries that is outpacing its peers, but needs to continually strive to compete at global levels said Dutta, who is co-editor of the Global Innovation Index. Published annually since 2007, the GII has become a chief benchmarking tool for business executives, policy makers, and others seeking insight into the state of innovation around the world.

IILM Institute for Higher Education instituted the Distinguished Global Thinker Award in 2006 to foster greater engagement with the global academic community as well as to provide a forum for policy debate on issues of international importance. Since inception, IILM has conferred the Global Thinker Award to Lord Bhikhu Parekh, Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, Professor C.K. Prahalad, Lord Meghnad Desai, Dr. Shashi Tharoor, Prof. Andre Beteille and Mr. Sam Pitroda. The award is adjudged basis recommendations from an independent jury chaired by Dr. Shashi Tharoor.