Johnson Wins Top Honor from The Consortium

Numerous community building and leadership activities cited in award of Consortium’s T.E.A.M. Trophy

Johnson Wins Top Honor from The Consortium

Cornell University was chosen as the 2012 recipient of The Consortium for Graduate Study in Management’s T.E.A.M. (Together Everyone Achieves More) Award. The T.E.A.M. Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of the Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management’s Consortium students in leadership, community service, and promoting diversity within the Johnson and Cornell communities. Representatives of Johnson’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion and Career Management Center, joined the Consortium Class of 2014 to accept the award in June 2012, at the annual Consortium Orientation Program for incoming MBA students.

Johnson was selected for the T.E.A.M. Trophy based on the contributions of Consortium students in both academic pursuits and leadership positions.

Johnson’s Consortium students have assumed several leadership roles at the school, including executive positions on the Student Council, Black Graduate Business Association, BR Venture Fund, Latino Business Students Association, Marketing Association, Old Ezra Finance Club, Out for Business and the newly-formed Johnson Diversity Council. They are also among those receiving Johnson’s most prestigious scholarship—the Roy H. Park Fellowship. Of the 24 Class of 2013 fellows, 9 are Consortium students.

“Johnson’s intense, collaborative community has offered Consortium students the chance to thrive in an environment that is supportive, challenging, and meaningful,” said Nsombi B. Ricketts, Director of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion. “We couldn’t be prouder of our Consortium students and will continue to leverage our partnership with The Consortium to improve diversity and inclusion at Johnson.”

Johnson became a member school of The Consortium in 2009 and has successfully recruited the third largest class of all 17 member schools each year since joining.  The Class of 2012 had 33 Consortium members, and the incoming Class of 2014 will be Johnson’s largest Consortium Class to date, with 40 members.

The T.E.A.M. Trophy, initiated in 2004, aims to foster participation among Consortium schools, their students, and the community at large. The winning school is selected based on its participation in the areas of fund raising, community building, and liaison duty fulfillment. The T.E.A.M. Trophy currently is on display in Johnson’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion.

There is no comment.