Celebrating Leadership in Sustainable Global Enterprise at Johnson

The Samuel C. Johnson Award in Sustainable Global Enterprise for Individual Leadership and Team Impact were awarded during the Dean’s Brunch. 

Celebrating Leadership in Sustainable Global Enterprise at Johnsoninline-block

At the Dean’s Brunch during graduation weekend numerous Johnson students were recognized for their outstanding service to the school and excellence in academics including several for their leadership in Sustainable Global Enterprise (SGE) while at Johnson. With the help of recent SGE alumni, the following award winners were selected from nominations.

Jeremy Kuhre, MBA ’16 was the recipient of this year’s Samuel C. Johnson Award in Sustainable Global Enterprise for Individual Leadership. Jeremy is a tenacious and hardworking individual who has a singular focus on creating a positive green impact and seeks to create competitive advantages through sustainable global strategies.

In the fall of 2014, shortly after he arrived at Johnson, Jeremy organized a bus to take over 60 Johnson students, Cornell students, and other Ithacans to the People’s Climate March in New York City, the largest climate demonstration in history. Jeremy and a group of Johnson MBAs marched together holding a banner with the words, “MBAs for Change.” In addition to leadership roles in the Energy club and the SGE club, he also acted as team captain for two clean-energy-related case competitions, the National [Em]Powering Grid Resilience Competition and the mai Bangkok Business Challenge. Over the two years, Jeremy has mentored numerous students through his role as a Career Work Group Leader for students interested in careers in renewables and as a TA for the SGE Immersion as well as helping organize and train fellow student teams to compete in various energy case competitions.

Climate March

L to R: Jeremy Kuhre, Zachary Perlstein, Mauricio Medaets, and Ace Stryker

As one nomination stated, “I have never seen a leader who has motivated his fellow classmates, meaningfully impacted organizations, and left a lasting tribute like that of Jeremy.”

The second award, Samuel C. Johnson Award in Sustainable Global Enterprise for Team Impact was presented to the Directors of Big Red MicroEnterprise (BRM): Trisha Chang, Eskedar Getahun, Harsh Mogili, and Erin Popelka all MBA ‘16.

BRM Directors

L to R: Mark Milstein, Eskedar Getahun, Trisha Chang, Erin Popelka, Harsh Mogili and Monica Touesnard


Under the guidance of the Center for Sustainable Global Enterprise, BRM is a student-run organization that spurs microenterprise development by assisting self-employed individuals reach their business goals. Over the past year the Directors completely revamped the student curriculum taking the program to a new level of professionalism and improving the quality of the work delivered to the local community. To do this, they overhauled the training for the MBA coaches. They developed and provided empathy training and scenario-role playing allowing coaches the opportunity to practice how to handle client relationships and worst-case scenarios. As a result, this year both coaches and clients were fully engaged and felt completely supported by the Directors.

“They really went above and beyond to make BRM and Johnson a better place for us and for the local community beyond Sage.”

SCJ award recipients are determined by an SGE alumni selection committee from nominations received from students, faculty and staff.

There is no comment.